Boturnell Farm Cottages - Guests Reviews




We just wanted to send you a massive thank you for booking us in at such short notice the other weekend.

We had an amazing time and absolutely loved staying in Chy Yar.

The way you have converted Chy Yar is amazing, we loved everything about it and the fact that its totally dog friendly is perfect!

The dogs were so chilled and relaxed it was great! We all absolutely loved the peace and quiet and waking up to the sound of the cockerel. *:) happy

We can't wait to come again!

See you soon

Shelley, Adam & Larni and Ted the Labradoodles
Oct 2017
Beau Tunnel Jan 2017

We just wanted to let you know once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We love the upgrades you've done since the last time we stayed, the kitchen and bathroom are great.

We look forward to staying again in the future

Shepherds Hut Oct 2015

 I will be leaving early tomorrow so just wanted to say a big 'thank you' for my stay - the Shepherds hut is so cool! I lit the burner and took advantage of kindling from the woods and some logs and random wood I found lying about. The burner is great, even managed to cook my dinner on the hob :-)
Thanks again, Trevor


The Old Smoke House July 2015

Once again, very comfortable and homely accommodation, enjoyed by us as usual, so lovely that the dogs can also enjoy the cottage as their "home from" Thank you The Evans family & Rolo, Minstrel & Revel


Beau Tunnel 6.6.15

Lovely place to stay, thoroughly enjoyed our holiday! and our three dogs could not have been happier.


Beau Tunnel 30.5.15

Thanks very much for another wonderful, comfortable stay! Love the "Beau Tunnel"! Thanks the Coopers


Beau Tunnel 2.5.15
Thanks, we had a lovely time staying in Beau Tunnel. It is really quirky and fun. See you next year. Jenny & Paul


Smoke House 1.5.15

Staff lovely, nothing too much trouble & very relaxed. Beautiful grounds, cottage nicely kept & feels like you can treat it as a home from home.


 

Dairy 1.5.15
Lovely warm, cosy cottage, everything you need is here, but excellent, little enclosed garden, what a god-send as we have 3 min pins, able to leave doors open when here without worry that they are unable to get out. Many thanks, will stay again Mr & Mrs O



Hi
Just wanted to thank you for a luvly 4 night stay at Old Smoke House. It beat our expectations by far, we loved being surrounded by all the lovely animals including the noisy cockerells!! LOL🐓🐔🐥🐾🐖🐈
A nice relaxing comfortable stay. We will definitely be back soon.
And a BIG THANK YOU to Lee who rescued us when we got lost on a dark country lane. Really appreciated his help. 👍👍👍

 



23/3/2015 

Hi Sue just wanted to say again we were really happy with the cottage it was very clean warm and charming we found out Friday that Mark's boss was taken ill so he had to be back Monday but we bought train tickets and I was going to stay on however, Murray was a bit of a nightmare we planned long walks and he really didn't enjoy it apart from being very naughty so I didn't think I could cope alone with him the last straw was a walk to your woods he laid down 3 times and growled at the horses as I didn't have the head collar on I ended up with a bad finger one he broke previously. As we know your a behaviourist we did discuss hiding him in the wardrobe when we left and hope you could make him easier to manage. Anyway thank you very much although our stay was short we would certainly recommend the cottages and will be back once Murray let's us.


The Shepherds Hut

Lovely break, will be back many thanks Ian & Ki


The Dairy Oct 2014

What a wonderful place to stay, so dog friendly. Hope our dogs weren't too noisy, they loved it, the walks in the woods etc. And being able to leave them without worrying. We are hoping to come back in the spring. Wish we'd found this years ago, could never find anywhere that allowed more than two or three dogs. Sandy & Denise.

The Old Smoke House 25th Oct 2014
Once again, a relaxing and cosy "home" to come back to after sightseeing. Thank you Gill, Barrie & Sam (& the "boys" Rolo, Minstrel & Revel)


The Old Smoke HouseIts our 3rd stay in as many years - brilliant place to stay- home from home. Recommend it to all our family & friends & we'll be back Thank you Steve, Michelle & Emma & Loki the dog xWe just wanted to say a big thank you , we had a wonderful week in The Roost and have booked for next year,our dog Shadow old English loved the long walks in the woods, and was so at home in the cottage.It was so nice to be able to leave him while we went out.the Roost is so comfortable and homely , and the bed were so comfy.my grand daughter brought her to boys down for the day, and we had a wonderful time feeding the animals, then a picnic down in the woods.looking forward to next year.

Dear Sue and Teej
Apologies for the belated email but just to say a very big 'Thank you' for allowing us to stay in the lovely Toad Hall during the last week in March. We were all extremely comfortable and had a wonderful stay, especially the hounds!

On this occasion, thanks to your kindness in donating a week's holiday to the Greyhound Gap auction, homeless hounds also benefitted, however, we very much hope to be able to book through the normal route, to return some time soon. In the meantime, we'll post some pictures online and will recommend Boturnell Farm to all our dog loving friends, who may also be in need of a relaxing break.


 

We have had a brilliant time. You are to be commended on how dog friendly Boturnell Barns is. We have never relaxed so much on holiday before when have brought our dogs on holiday with us. We will be back again soon to spend another chill out week. Thank you Jenny & Paul The Dairy April 2014


Shepherds Hut.Just wanted to say thanks for a brilliant week in the shepherds hut. We fancied trying something quirky & were not let down. We thought the we were "taking a chance" (friends thought we were bordering on lunacy) bringing 3 dogs, including a working Cocker puppy with a broken "off" switch to a 6x12 hut, but it was so much fun!!! Once we had established a humans bit, & a dogs end/kitchen bit with the fire guard we brought down, all was plain sailing! Waking up to that view every morning was superb & the woods....I am so jealous! Would've loved to have found out a bit of the history of the woods, as you can see its been coppiced. The work that has obviously been done to restore & manage it, is really/literally bearing fruit, so power to you. Moving on to the animals, they were brilliant characters, loved the pigs & the Cockerel with the "cocka doodle blhhh!" All your horses have Labrador "feed me" eyes, so it was hard to resist feeding them, but we did, just! The white one, really thinks the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence & so kept one of your guys constantly busy with fence repairs! He was a top bloke,really nice to chat to, as was everyone we met.

Sorry we never got to say "tara" personally to Teej & other people we met, but thanks again, we would love to return. 1st Sept 2013Had a great week, very relaxing, loved waking up on the farm, the dogs had a brilliant week - never seen them this tired Big thanks Jo & Liam 30.3.13


 

Just a quick email to say Thanks for a great holiday ! 

Toad Hall lived up to expectations...comfy, well equiped, space for us to "chill out" and the dogs loved it !

So nice to go somewhere where the dogs are made to feel more than welcome and they were in seventh heaven as they were allowed to sit on the sofas (with covers on).  This is something they are not normally allowed to do! 

 An enclosed ,and jack russell proof, garden was a bonus.  The fact that there were other dogs and dog owners around made us feel comfortable and relaxed. 

We had a wonderful week, the weather was good, if a little cold, but Toad Hall was warm and cosy especially after a day out on a windy beach.

We would love to come again.  :o) 30th March 2013

Beau Tunnel 23.3.13We've had a fantastic week- really glad we found this last minute gem! Lovely cosy place and the kids loved the animals Thank you :)Dairy March 2013 Everything about my stay was excellent. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of my cottage. I will definately be back with my 2 greyhounds - KimChristmas 2012Just a note to let you know we enjoyed our stay at your quirky little tunnel, it is lovely and so clean, more than can be said for the weather and the surrounding roads. However what you said, was what we got, warm dry accommodation on a working farm. You are very lucky to still have that big fat tabby cat, she really took to me or was it that she took to the treats and leftovers? If we had any more room I am sure she would have come home with me, she did try.

 

Unfortunately I didn't get out much as I was under the weather and used the afternoons to catch up on lost sleep, it did give me the chance to wallow in that huge steaming bath with the radio on loud knowing I wouldn't upset anyone.

 

A few words about the facilities for others, it rained constantly for 5 days, there were flood warnings and alerts on every news programme but we stayed dry, never had a worry about closed roads, slipped embankments or helicopters not finding us. The tunnel is a Nissen hut as used in wartime, it is lovely and airy, bright and kept warm inside with insulation, oil filled heaters, a lovely log burner and an emergency halogen heater just to take the chill off as you first enter. Hot water is fuelled by propane gas as is the large gas hob and oven.

 

There is an undercounter freezer, fridge, dishwasher and plenty of storage space for wet boots and coats. The beds are very comfortable comprising of a standard double and a smaller cabin bed which is 2 singles on two levels.

 

The Beau Tunnel was ideal for 4 adults, two Westies, a rather confused Shi-Tzu and an elderly Springer Spaniel. The kitchen is adequately equipped with enough cutlery, crockery, pots plates and pans to make a Christmas dinner for four, a microwave and large kettle compliments the worktops

Sue.

Your Wren is still there, skipping about every morning with a greeting, we had a couple of Buzzards keeping an eye out for a free breakfast and your cockerel needs a major service. The daylight saving time is out and it starts to crow at precisely 01.15 in the morning and then continues until daybreak.

Would I recommend it to others, most certainly, would I come again, most definitely but in drier weather next time.

Thanks to everyone at Boturnell Farm Cottages and a happy new year to you.


Hi Sue,

 

We have recently come back from staying at the Beau Tunnel. We had a fantastic week and found the Beau Tunnel to be very comfy and the wood burning stove kept it very cosy.

 

Our dogs had a lovely holiday too and enjoyed walking in your woods and fields plus all the walks they had in the beautiful part of Cornwall that you live in.

 

We really enjoyed all the peace and quiet and the wildlife. It was great to see the little wren coming to sleep in the lantern outside our back door every night. We could hear an owl in the woods and saw lots of other small birds in our garden as well as a toad.

 

We loved having the chickens as neighbours as we keep chickens ourselves. And it was nice to be able to walk round your farmyard and visit the pigs, goats, ponies and alpacas.

 

It was good to be able to recyle pretty much everything so by the end of the week we only had a very small carrier bag of actual rubbish, so thank you for providing the recycling facilities.

 

We hope to be able to come and visit again sometime.

Thanks for a lovely holiday.

Karen, Glenn, Hobo and Dillon.


 Dear Sue,

Please find enclosed cash to cover the postage for the return of the dog coats I left behind at the end of our holiday.
We had a lovely week and are looking forward to coming back again next year. it just seems such a long wa away but I am sure the months will fly by once we have clot to the New Year.
I think the dogs are really fed up to be back home they would much prefer to be running on the beach or exploring your lovely woods so I am sure they will be delighted when we come back.

Best wishes

Mrs Jennie Smith
Bournemouth


Really enjoyed my stay here looking out onto the "square" watching the horse come home! The little garden is very safe & the walk to the woods is great & the weather was pretty good too!

Many Thanks


Hi Sue,

Just wanted to say what a lovely place you have and the 5 cocker spaniels loved every min of it. It was so nice to feel that cockers could be cockers and not always having to tell them to be quiet. Your cats were wonderful with such characters and i hope I did not make them too fat!!!! We hope to come back next year and stay in one of the bigger rooms and hope the sun will shine a little more (thats for us not the dogs!!!)

If anyone really wants to know of somewhere dogs can be dogs then you really do have the place.

Hope to see you next year

Kerry, Martin and the Spaniels


 

Just wanted to email so say what a lovely week we had last week in the roost. It is such a perfect place especially with dogs! Lovely walks around the fields but also not far to travel to explore the coast, we went all over the place including Fowey, Newquay, Seaton, Looe and Polperro. And the weather was good which was a bonus- waterproof not used! Anyway we hope to return! The dogs have been sleepy since we have been home!

Many thanks

Donna


Hi Sue,

Arrived back home safely after a really great week at Boturnell Farm. Toad Hall is lovely - clean, comfy, well equipped and thoughtfully furnished. It was nice to relax in and not worry about scratching or damaging anything!
It was fantastic not to have to worry about the dog on holiday - we all appreciated the effort you have gone to so that pets can share the holiday home. The covers for all the chairs and sofas were much appreciated. The 'two way' gate meant we could put the dog in the garden and leave him out there safely contained.

We loved the walks around the farm and the food scraps seemed much appreciated by the ducks, chickens and pigs. The field at the back and the woodland walk for the dog was a great advantage and it was lovely to say good morning and goodnight to the horses each day.

I read another review of Boturnell Farm and can't believe they stayed at the same place. This is a farm for goodness sake - you get dust and flies and animal noises - it's what makes it special. (although it did take a couple of days to get used to the cockerell waking us up at daybreak!) After a couple of nights of torrential rain the bedrooms did feel a little damp - but it's to be expected in converted barns that don't have wall-to-wall central heating. However, we aired the rooms by opening the windows and used the heaters for an hour or so and hey presto - the damp went.

Boturnell Farm is definitely an animal lovers haven and better appreciated by people who don't want Disney and Disinfectant. We loved it!

I would be very happy for you to use our review if appropriate.

Thank you

Penny Pottinger


Thank you - We have had a fab week - its a great place. We have been out and about everyday. Great position to explore! The dogs have enjoyed it too!

Thankyou.

Donna and Paul Douglas (Maisie + Buddy)


Dear Sue,

Just wanted to drop you a quick line to say thank you for our stay at Boturnell last week. We all had a lovely time.

Filber thought your woods were absolutely fantastic and couldn’t believe his luck when he was allowed to recharge his batteries on the sofa!

You have a ‘little piece of paradise’ there.

Many, many thanks.

Kind regards,

Karen